Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

(null)(such a pretty silvery, reflective spine)

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart                                                  Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Blurb:
A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

I’m not going to lie about how the book ends, I’m just not going to talk about the plot, at all. What I will talk about is the very peculiar writing style the author took with this book and it’s characters. It’s a narrative and the writing is somewhat choppy (kind of how the blurb is written), it did not bother me because I felt that it fit the main character and her circumstance. The way it is written actually helps to move the story along very quickly, no muss, no fuss. I have read several people talk about how they couldn’t make it through the book because of the way it was written but once I looked past it and determined that it was *meant* to sound that way, I was able to very much enjoy this book. Plus there are moments in this book where it is beautifully written…

“I lie there and wait, and remind myself over and over that it doesn’t last forever. That there will be another day and after that, yet another day. One of those days, I’ll get up and eat breakfast and feel okay.

This book is about a very rich family, The Sinclairs and their summers spent on a private island.  I will say the only likeable characters are the “Liars”, the rest of the family is greedy, fake, and racist but these flaws are factors that drive the story and make it what it is. There are some short stories, sort of like fairy tales, thrown in the mix that all relate to the family/story line and those were so enjoyable for me. It really helped to give a different perspective on the Sinclairs without revealing everything but at the same time telling you so much about the family.

Once upon a time there was a book about 3 cousins and one family friend, The Liars. The summers were theirs and they were young and free. They spend their summers at Beechwood Island which is a place for family, fun, adventure, young love, greed, accidents, lies, and mystery.

I like to think that I’m good at figuring out mysteries early on (just call me Sherlock) but I found myself not really trying to figure this one out. I was but I wasn’t. I wanted answers but I was so busy enjoying the story and turning the pages that I never got the chance to really theorize about what was going to be the end result. Needless to say when I turned the page last night and started the new chapter, I was sucker punched. I thought “this makes sense” but then denial had me all, “this doesn’t make sense, it can’t be true”.

throw-that-book-out-the-window-o^exactly what happened last night

This book deceives you into thinking that it’s a lighthearted read about young teenagers, it is not. I will just say that. Do with that what you will.

This was a very quick read, read it in 2 days and I only sat down to read it thrice. Although it is very short & quick, it still manages to deliver a full story and develop its characters (as much as they can be in 225 pages), which I’m happy about because I hate nothing more than flat characters you can’t feel for. Cadence/Cady, the narrator, was not afraid to bring the realness with herself. She was honest with herself about herself and I really liked that about her.
wewere
This book seems to have its lovers and its haters but I definitely think this is worth giving it a chance.  It delivers a good mystery in a quick enjoyable read.

I’m kind of all over the place with this review but it’s just very hard to write about without revealing anything. There is a lot more to say about this book but I just can’t so I will leave you with words to live by:

1. Do not accept an evil you can change.
2. Be a little kinder than you have to.
3. Always do what you’re afraid to do.
4. Never eat anything bigger than your ass.

Leave a Reply

